Someone Tried To Open My Door

There’s a reason the on-site accommodation at my university is called ‘The Street’. It’s a collection of about 30 three story houses all lined up along a pathway, much like a street in the real world but more secluded. It’s different to Halls, more personal, I’m only living with seven (well currently six, our new housemate has been due for a few days now) people instead of 107. We also have these cool electronic locks we have on the front doors, so only the people who live there can get in, plus locks on the bedroom doors. But, I almost never locked my door. We were pretty secluded at the end of the street and the only people who could get in I lived with, so there was never any reason to.

What I only recently found out though, was that our deadbolt has been broken for a few weeks and now the electronic lock doesn’t engage properly. When I found out I was annoyed that no one had told me, but otherwise unworried.

Tonight though…as I was getting ready for bed I got a horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach. I didn’t know why exactly but, tonight for whatever reason I had to lock my door. It seemed stupid but this deep, intense fear I was feeling did not go away until I’d twisted the deadbolt on my own door and heard it click into place.

Satisfied that I’d abated my unexplained fears I climbed into bed, trying to get to sleep, but I couldn’t tonight. I tossed and turned until almost midnight when, the familiar house shaking bang of the front door opening and closing indicated one of my more nocturnal housemates had come in. At this point I just accepted the fact I wasn’t going to sleep tonight, because I can hear everything from my room. I listened closely trying to see if I could figure out which housemate it was. I only heard a few footsteps so thought it was someone on my floor.

The door to room 1 opened. Instant red flag, room 1 was empty until our newest member moved in. For a moment I convinced myself that it was our new housemate. I stayed listening hoping I was right. No. the footsteps continued up the hall stopping outside room 2. My room.

I froze, holding my breath, so that whoever it was thought my room was also empty. The door handle rattled in the quiet of my room as I stare at where my door would be in the darkness. By this point I’m shaking I’m so scared. I tried to press myself further into the wall as a banging started on my door. Too quiet for the others to hear but for me it might as well have been thunder it was so loud, like they were putting their whole body weight behind their attempts to get my door open.

I told myself that if I stayed as quiet as possible they would leave. Then, after the longest minute of my short life it stopped, but I realise now I don’t hear the front door open. I found myself relaxing, convincing myself someone was just trying to pull a prank on me and, at the same time thankful as fuck that I decided to lock my door.

Then just a few moments ago, I hear creaking footsteps on the stairs and, the door to the room above me has just been opened.

Leave a Reply

