Love Letter To Swearing

I love to swear

that’s a fact.

and it is sweet.
It’s unladylike! You say.

Inarticulate swine!

And you’re right it is, truly, a shame!

That articulation is arbitrary,

and, my language choice, is mine.
 

See my vocabulary is vast

It stretches out like the sea.

And my sea won’t shrink

If I happen to use the C.

 

The feeling of the fricative F

As I say the word,

Feels

so visceral I have to repeat.

 

The subtle sibilance

As my mouth forms a shhhh

And ends with a quick hit.

 

My choice of words will not diminish

Either my manner, my charm,

my humour, or wit.
It doesn’t make me unintelligent

To use it for embellishment.
So for those of you,

who would-

Admonish me for my words,

I truly hope this helps.

 

Now kindly take your criticism,

And go fuck yourself.

Leave a Reply

